CONFIRM Education & Public Engagement Awards 2022

Each year, CONFIRM researchers develop and participate in activities under the Centre’s Education & Public Engagement (EPE) programme. The primary focus of the EPE programme is to engage with stakeholder groups outside of academia with the view to enhance knowledge and awareness of SETM research, particularly with respect to Smart Manufacturing, while also facilitating inclusion of the wider societal voice in terms of shaping the direction of the research.

Since the programme began in 2018, CONFIRM researchers have delivered over 500 EPE activities, engaging with over 60,000 people through both face-to-face and virtual events. Activities within the EPE programme are delivered by members at every level within the Centre from Principal Investigators to PhD students highlighting the fact that the importance of engaging with the public has been fully integrated into the Centre’s ethos and mission.

While the contributions of all CONFIRM team are highly valued, at this year’s annual conference we decided to celebrate those who went over and above in terms of EPE participation in 2021 through the presentation of our inaugural Education & Public Engagement Awards. In total 21 awards were presented again highlighting the commitment of CONFIRM members to public engagement:

The recipients for the 2022 awards were:

Dr. Aidan Quinn, Principal Investigator, Tyndall National Institute
Dr. Alan McGibney, Funded Investigator, Munster Technological University (Cork)
Dr. Bharath Sudharsan, PhD Graduate, University of Galway
Dr. Declan Devine, Funded Investigator, Technological University of the Shannon (Athlone)
Prof. Dirk Pesch, Principal Investigator, University College Cork
Prof. Donna O’ Shea, Principal Investigator, Munster Technological University (Cork)
Jason Curran, PhD Student, University of Limerick
Jayasekara Kapukotuwa, PhD Student, Technological University of the Shannon (Athlone)
Dr. Jobish John, SMART 4.0 Research Fellow, University College Cork
Dr. Matteo Menolotto, Post-Doctoral Researcher, Tyndall National Institute
Qatada Damra, PhD Student, University of Limerick
Dr. Rupal Srivastava, SMART 4.0 Research Fellow, Technological University of the Shannon (Athlone)
Prof. Thomas Newe, Principal Investigator, University of Limerick
Prof. Conor McCarthy, Principal Investigator & Centre Director, University of Limerick
Prof. Barry O’ Sullivan, Principal Investigator, University College Cork
Ivan Guevara, PhD Student, University of Limerick
Dr. Kevin J. O’ Sullivan, Senior Research Fellow, University of Limerick
Dr. Lubna Luxmi Dhirani, Academic Collaborator, University of Limerick
Dr. Sourabh Bharti, SMART 4.0 Research Fellow, Munster Technological University (Cork)
Dr. Zhen Su, Post-Doctoral Researcher, Tyndall National Institute


We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.
  • __cfduid

Decline all Services
Accept all Services